Performance Samples Releases SOLOS OF THE SEA – SOLO VIOLIN B

  • By: Thorsten Meyer
  • Date: Monday, 7 September 2020
  • Time to read: 1 min.

Solo strings recorded in motion. Featuring expressive pitch-memory legato.

Solos of the Sea – Solo Violin B is a very simple solo legato instrument. This library explores a fairly specific sound: a loud, ff-esque dynamic with heavily slurred legatos. You can trigger even more dramatic portamento legatos by playing hard velocities on certain idiomatic intervals. In addition, this release also has same-note bow-change repetition samples which can be triggered by repeating notes with the sustain pedal pressed down.

The library continues along the lines of the unfolding Con Moto series with ‘active-bow’ sustains and legatos recorded con moto (with motion). The latter is here expanded upon with a ‘pitch-memory’ adaptation, which helps minimize a musician’s susceptibility to timbral variation between sustain and shorter legato assets.

  • Solo violinist
  • One dynamic layer (in the territory of ff)
  • Slurred pitch-memory legato, recorded con moto (with movement in the bowing and vibrato)
  • Dramatic portamento legato, triggered by playing velocity 100-127 on upwards-intervals of P4-P8
  • Same-note bow-change repetitions, triggered by repeating notes with the sustain pedal pressed down
  • “Active-bow” sustains (non-static longs that move and evolve while simultaneously maintaining the dynamic/timbre)
  • Short, responsive release samples
  • One mic position – recorded at a moderately close distance in a hall with a stereo pair
  • 48kHz / 24bit
  • NCW-compressed, ~517.2 MB total
  • Built for Kontakt 5.8.1 and above – full, retail version of Kontakt required
  • Download via Continuata

Pricing and Availability

Solos of the Sea – Solo Violin B  is available for an $39 intro (reg. $89) – intro pricing lasts through 9/20/2020.

Previous Post

ORIGIN X by Artistry Audio – 50% OFF!

Next Post